

Private Bag x115, Pretoria, 0001 • Tel: +27 12 323 8911 • Fax: +27 12 323 3262 PO Box 29, Cape Town, 8000 • Tel: +27 21 464 6100 • Fax: +27 21 461 2934

MEDIA ALERT

The Minister of Finance Trevor A Manuel, MP together with Doris Leuthard the Federal Councillor and Head of Federal Department of Economics in Switzerland will be signing a double taxation agreement in Pretoria on Tuesday, May 8 2007.

Venue: 40 Church Square, 2nd floor

Date: 8 May 2007

Time: 11:30 (today, Tuesday)

A double taxation agreement seeks to facilitate investment flows between countries by providing certainty with regard to the tax treatment of income generated by such investments. Double taxation agreements therefore aim to eliminate the double taxation of income or prevent the non-taxation of income arising in one State that accrues to residents of another State.

This South Africa – Switzerland double taxation agreement is an update of a previous agreement, signed in 1968, to take account of changes in the tax codes of both countries.

For more information please contact Lindani Mbunyuza 0833279987.

Issued by: Ministry of Finance

8 May 2007