

## NATIONAL TREASURY REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X 115, Pretoria, 0001 Enquiries: Logan Wort Tel: 012 315 5395 Fax: 012 315 5680

17 January 2003

PRESS RELEASE

EMBARGO: IMMEDIATELY

EXTENSION OF APPOINTMENTS OF MEMBERS TO THE FINANCIAL AND FISCAL COMMISSION (FFC):

Mr Trevor Manuel, the Minister of Finance, is pleased to announce that the President has approved the re-appointment of the Chairperson and the extension of the terms of six provincial and seven national members to the Financial and Fiscal Commission.

Mr Murphy Morobe will continue to serve as chairperson for a further two years. His term of office will expire at the end of December 2004.

The term of the other members is extended for another year, ending on 31 December 2003. Thereafter, the 2002 Constitutional amendment, which reduces the number of commissioners from 22 to 9, will take effect, after Parliament has passed amendments to the FFC Act and the Organised Local Government Act.

The following provincially nominated member's terms has been extended:

Mr D Albertyn (Northern Cape)
Dr H Bhorat (Western Cape)

Mr T Mosololi (Gauteng)

Ms M Moja (North West Province)

Mr M Mdhluli (Mpumalanga)
Ms Nosipho Damasane (Eastern Cape)

## EXTENSION OF APPOINTMENTS OF MEMBERS TO THE FINANCIAL AND FISCAL COMMISSION (FFC):

The nationally nominated member's whose terms has been extended are:

Prof L Loots

Mr M van Blerck

Mr P Hourquebie

Ms T Ajam

Ms G Moloi

Mr K Shubane

Dr P Pillay

Enquiries: Ismail Momoniat - Tel: (012) 315 5639